FRIENDS OF NERAM INC (9885144) NOTICE OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2024

The Annual General Meeting of Friends of NERAM Inc will be held at the New England Regional Art Museum, 106-114 Kentucky St, Armidale on Sunday 24^{TH} March, 2024 commencing at 4.30-6pm.

AGENDA

- 1. Chairperson's welcome
- 2. Apologies
- 3. Declaration of proxies
- 4. Minutes of AGM March 2023
- 5. Chairperson's report
- 6. Treasurer's Report Financial Year ending 31 December 2023
- 7. Election of Office Bearers
 - Chairperson
 - Deputy Chairperson
 - Treasurer
 - Secretary
 - Five (5) Committee members
- 8. Appointment of Patron and Associate Members

Director of NERAM - Rachael Parsons Patron - Angus Nivison
Honorary Solicitor - Greg Moin Honorary Accountant -vacant

9. NERAM Director's Report

Correspondence: The Secretary

Friends of NERAM Inc

PO BOX 984, ARMIDALE 2350 Email: friendsofneram@gmail.com

Friends of NERAM Inc (9885114) Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 24 March 2023 at 5:30pm at The New England Regional Art Museum

1. Welcome

Debra Kelliher welcomed members to the meeting.

Present

Debra Kelliher (Chair), Julia McCosker, Trevor Edgar, Merran Pearson (Membership Secretary), Deb McKern, Robyn McCarthy, Richard Purssey, David Hallam (Deputy Chair), Ady Hallam, David Rose, Stephen Halliday, Peter Lloyd, Moira Lloyd, Rosemary Randall, Lucinda Wright, Richard Bird, Lynne Walker, Andrew Murray, John Wearne.

In attendance

Rachael Parsons

2. Apologies

Helen & Graham Wilson, Mahalath Halperin & Joc Coventry, Mary Hollingworth, Jocelyn Colvin Jennifer Miller, Lou Conway & Phillip Wright, Philippa Pearson, Jennifer Hatte, Anne Clarke, Kerrie Dunn, Johann Koucamp, Danijelica Purssey.

3. Declaration of Proxies

Margaret Newsome who appointed the Chair as her proxy

4. Confirmation of AGM Minutes March 2022

It was moved that the minutes of the Friends Annual General Meeting of 27 March, 2022 be confirmed.

Moved: Richard Purssey Seconded:Lucinda Wright. The motion was passed.

5. Chair's Report

Debra read her report and in doing so;

- committed to contributing to NERAM as a significant place of learning in the creative arts and as an iconic institution in the New England
- thanked outgoing committee members Robyn McCarthy and David Hallam for their vital contributions as Treasurer and Deputy Chair
- thanked Merran Pearson, Membership Secretary and Lynne Walker, Secretary for their efforts
- thanked the Fundraising sub cttee for their catering and fundraising, and in particular mentioned the White Rhino Film Club committee, Wendy & John Wearne, Mike Gibson, Paul Gaddes and Lynne Walker, for all their work in maintaining and growing such a successful club which has contributed so significantly to FON income
- congratulated Rachael and her wonderful staff on the creativity and diversity of the exhibitions and activities at NERAM
- thanked the FON members for their continued support and attendance.

Debra moved that her report be accepted. Seconded; Moira Lloyd The motion was passed.

6. Treasurer's Report – Financial Year ending 31 December 2022

Following a brief discussion it was noted that there may be opportunity to expand the format of the financial reporting documentation comprising the Treasurer's Report. The Chair advised that this matter would be progressed by the Committee.

The Treasurer then moved that her report be accepted.

Moved: Robyn McCarthy Seconded: Andrew Murray The motion was passed.

7. Election of Office Bearers.

Debra Kelliher vacated the chair and handed over to Pam Koebel who declared all positions vacant and proceeded to read out the nominations.

Chairperson – nomination of Debra Kelliher. Nominated by Lynne Walker and Julia McCosker.

Deputy Chairperson – nomination of Trevor Edgar. Nominated by Merran Pearson and Julia McCosker.

Treasurer – nomination of Stephen Halliday. Nominated by Debra Kelliher and Merran Pearson.

Secretary - nomination of Lynne Walker. Nominated by Debra Kelliher and David Hallam.

Membership Secretary – nomination of Merran Pearson. Nominated by Julia McCosker and Trevor Edgar

Other Members;

Julia McCoskerNominated by Debra Kelliher and David HallamDeb McKernNominated by Merran Pearson and Julia McCoskerRichard PursseyNominated by Trevor Edgar and Lynne WalkerDavid RoseNominated by Debra Kelliher and Lynne Walker

There were no other nominations. Declared the nominations as elected.

With the positions filled Pam vacated the chair and handed the meeting back to Debra.

8. Appointment of Patron and Associate Members

Debra advised that the following had agreed to accept appointments as Patron and Associate Members and moved that the appointments be accepted.

Director of NERAM - Rachael Parsons

Patron - Angus Nivison

Honorary Solicitor – Greg Moin Honorary Accountant – vacant

Moved: Debra Kelliher. Seconded Moira Lloyd. The motion was passed.

9. NERAM Director's Report

The chair welcomed Director Rachael Parsons who in her report:

- thanked the Friends of NERAM for all their support in all its capacities
- reported that 2022 had seen a massive recovery from Covid with over 70,000 visitors through acknowledging the contributions of the Six Counties restaurant and of the F.O.N funded Archibald exhibition.
- reported that both the Education and the Outreach programmes had expanded significantly
- acknowledged NERAM's 40th anniversary stating that on 26th March, 1983 NERAM opened and that accordingly this year would be a year of celebration.
- she also reported that the long awaited Packsaddle horse statue had arrived and had been was being installed in the forecourt.

Debra thanked Rachael for her report and expressed her thanks and gratitude for Rachael's leadership and creativity.

10. Special Resolution to Change the Association Rules

Debra explained that the special resolution had been withdrawn because what the Committee was proposing was not in line with the regulations under the Department of Fair Trading.

11. Presentation of Oarsman Awards

Debra then presented the two Oarsman's Awards to the two recipients, Julia McCosker and Martha Saw amid great applause from the audience.

12. General Business

There being no further business Debra thanked everyone for coming, declared the meeting closed and invite all those present to stay for a drink and enjoy a tour of the newly hung Hinton exhibition led by our Curator, Belinda Hungerford.

The meeting closed at 6.15pm. Date of 2024 AGM t.b.a.